Forest of Reading banner

The Red Maple Award™

Red Maple Award Logo

The Red Maple Award™ features Canadian books in two lists for student ages 12 to 13 year olds in grades 7 and 8. A fiction list is offered every year, while the non-fiction list is offered every other year.

Nominees are announced in October of each year and voting opens in April of the following year.


Lastest Winners

2018 Fiction Winner & 2017 Non-Fiction Winner

Check out the latest Red Maple Award™ winners:

The Winnowing Child Soldier

Current Fiction Nominees

2019 Fiction Nominees

Check out the current nominees:

Assassin's Curse Don’t Tell the Enemy Fourth Dimension The Last Namsara Sadia Skating Over Thin Ice The Strange and Deadly Portraits of Bryony Gray A Time to Run Tracker’s Canyon A World Below


Current Non-Fiction Nominees

2019 Non-Fiction Nominees

A non-fiction nominees list is offered every other year.

Canadian Structures and Sustainability Every Falling Star Innovation Nation NotYourPrincess The Science of Why 2 The Space Adventurer's Guide Speaking Our Truth Trash Revolution Turtle Island When We Were Shadows