Questions and Answers for the Canadian Citizenship Test

Federal, provincial, and municipal elected officials for Milton residents.

Last updated: October 30, 2018

Federal Government

What is the name of the Governor General of Canada?

Her Excellency the Right Honourable Julie Payette

Name all the federal political parties represented in the House of Commons and their leaders.

Conservative Party of Canada - Andrew Scheer

Liberal Party of Canada - Justin Trudeau

New Democratic Party of Canada - Jagmeet Singh

Which party is the Official Opposition at the Federal level?

Conservative Party of Canada

Name the Prime Minister of Canada and their party.

Prime Minister Justin Trudeau is the leader of the Liberal Party of Canada

Name your Member of Parliament (MP) and their party.

Lisa Raitt is Milton's MP and she belongs to the Conservative Party of Canada

Which Federal party is currently in power?

The Liberal Party of Canada

Provincial Government

Who is your Member of Provincial Parliament (MPP) and what is their party?

Parm Gill of the Progressive Conservative Party of Ontario is the MPP for Milton

Who is the Premier of your province and what is their party?

The Honourable Doug Ford is the Premier of Ontario and he belongs to the Progressive Conservative Party of Ontario

Which political party is in power in your province?

The Progressive Conservative Party is in power in Ontario

Who is the Leader of the Official Opposition in your province and what is their party?

Andrea Horwath is the Leader of the Official Opposition and she is the leader of the Ontario New Democratic Party

Name your Provincial Lieutenant Governor or Commissioner.

The Honourable Elizabeth Dowdeswell is the Lieutenant Governor of Ontario

Municipal Government

Who is the Chair of the Regional Municipality of Halton?

Gary Carr

Who is your Mayor?

Gord Krantz

Who is your city councillor, alderperson, reeve, or regional councillor?

Regional Councillors:

Colin Best (Ward 1)
Rick Malboeuf (Ward 2)
Mike Cluett (Ward 3)
Zeeshan Hamid (Ward 4)

Town Councillors: 

Kristina Tesser Derksen (Ward 1)
John Challinor (Ward 2)
Rick Di Lorenzo (Ward 3)
Sameera Ali (Ward 4)