The Red Maple Award™

Forest of Reading banner

Red Maple Award Logo

The Red Maple Award™ features Canadian books in two lists for student ages 12 to 13 year olds in grades 7 and 8. A fiction list is offered every year, while the non-fiction list is offered every other year.

Nominees are announced in October of each year and voting opens in April of the following year.

Fiction | Non-fiction

2017 Fiction & Non-Fiction Winners

Shooter Child Soldier

2018 Fiction Nominees

And Then the Sky Exploded Bent Not Broken Hawk Laura Monster Crusher Run Secret Path Short for Chameleon Summer's End The Way Back Home The Winnowing

2017 Non-Fiction Nominees

A non-fiction nominees list is offered every other year. The next list will be announced in October of 2018 for the 2019 award year. Continue to enjoy the 2017 non-fiction nominees.

A Beginner's Guide to Immortality Bite into Bloodsuckers Child Soldier DNA Detective Faster Higher Smarter Hidden Gold Pride Transphobia Urban Tribes Vanished